Money for Old Horses…

It’s hard to pick out which is the scariest aspect of the horsemeat scandal. Current levels of industry regulation and enforcement are certainly frightening. But what about back when there was even less?

Horse passports were only introduced in Ireland 2004.

Micro chipping only came in compulsorily in 2009.

Commercial horses (show jumpers, racehorses) have long carried ID papers, but what of regular types e.g. those in riding schools, or privately owned, or those animals say, at Ballinasloe/Smithfield horse fair?

In 1998, I owned a horse.

She was rising 16 years of age, had sustained a long term injury and needed to be retired from active work. I did not own or have access to any land to retire her on. Nor did I want to consider the ‘nuclear’ option, that others would.

So – in my innocence – I placed an advert offering her ‘free to good home’. I had no idea what response, if any, I would get. But wasn’t expecting what happened next.

A man rang, saying he was looking for an older horse, to run with yearlings, be a calming influence etc. I asked where he was based, could I come and view his lands and so on. I was happy enough, took his name and number, saying I would decide and call him back.

 

But via a totally chance conversation subsequently, I discovered that this man was a horse dealer. Bought, sold, traded. And sent for slaughter. Paid by weight, the heavier the animal, the more cash for him. No paperwork would change hands of course. There was none.

 

I should have copped it when instead of asking about her health and temperament, he was asking what height my horse was and if she was light boned i.e. how many kgs could he exchange on the scales, for cold, hard cash?

I did not ring him back.

But he was not done. He actually made THREE separate approaches to me in total, using different names and phone numbers. But wiser now, and using a few appropriate contacts, I sussed it out and did not respond. So he gave up.

I eventually did manage to find a ‘free to good home’ for my horse. And delivered her there myself.

There is, and has been, money in dead horses, for a long time. Whether we like it, or like to think about it, or not.

Back then I vaguely knew of only one horse abattoir in Ireland.

There is actually three now – (B&F Meats, Thomastown, Co Kilkenny , Ashgrove Meats, Newcastlewest in Limerick & Shannonside Foods, in Straffan, Co.Kildare).

Who knew?

I’m not suggesting that my horse or any other might have ended up in the food chain back then – although let’s face it, who honestly could say?

But when you consider how poorly the (albeit weak) system of regulation has worked lately, it is worth at least pondering what might possibly have gone on, back when there was just about no regulation at all.

Leave a comment